Student Clubs & Organizations

Joining clubs is a great way to get connected with other students, get involved, discover new interests, share common interests, and have fun at SCTCC. It’s also great for fostering friendships, building confidence and self-esteem, and developing interpersonal and leadership skills. Being involved in extra-curricular activities can add depth to your resume and can help open doors for your future.

Many of SCTCC's student clubs are directly tied to our academic programs. They can give you "real-world" experiences and make learning easier and more fun. To top it all off, studies show that students who are more involved in campus activities and more engaged in the campus community do better academically.

Club Advisor: Katey Leverson
Katey.leverson@sctcc.edu

Active Minds aims at reducing stigma surrounding mental health, increasing awareness about issues such as suicide among college students, and overall improving and changing the conversation. Active Minds’ events help provide essential information, resources, and spread awareness regarding mental health advocacy.

Club Advisor: Dave Johnson
djohnson@sctcc.edu

ADDA’s mission: Support and Prepare the Design Profession to Preserve the Past and Imagine the Future

Club Advisor: Sheryl Workman
Sheryl.workman@sctcc.edu

A club for those creative, innovative, and communicative students interested in marketing, advertising, and design.

Club Advisor: Ryan Maas
ryan.maas@sctcc.edu

The Autobody SkillsUSA club focuses on the skills of collision repair through events, competition, and teamwork. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisor: Jim Allex
jallex@sctcc.edu

Automotive SkillsUSA is a club about service repair in the automotive industry. Using competitions and events to promote this, club members take their talents from the classroom to the stage to show off their service skills. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisor: Jed Johnson
jjohnson@sctcc.edu

CMBA strives to improve the Central Minnesota building industry, learning about building industry best practices; and engaging our members in activities that strengthen competitiveness and professionalism.

Club Advisor: Becky Shand
rshand@sctcc.edu

What is Collegiate DECA ...

  • Collegiate DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management.
  • Collegiate DECA inspires students to be: Academically Prepared, Community Oriented, Professionally Responsible, and Experienced Leaders.
  • Collegiate DECA’s Comprehensive Learning Program: Integrates into Classroom Instruction, Applies Learning, Connects to Business, and Promotes Competition.

Club Advisor: Jay Thomas
jthomas@sctcc.edu

Culinary Arts SkillsUSA is for those students in the Culinary program to display their culinary talents in a competitive and exciting environment. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisor: Beth Harrison
Beth.Harrison@sctcc.edu

Dental assisting students are invited to participate in (SADAA) Student American Dental Assistants Association and the Minnesota Dental Assistants Association. SADAA is an organization created to help students develop leadership skills and self-confidence. Continued membership provides the graduate with professional contacts, opportunities for learning through continuing education and a chance to participate in local and national governance of profession organizations.

Club Advisor: Mary Leblanc
mleblanc@sctcc.edu

Students in our dental hygienist program have the opportunity to join the Student American Dental Hygiene Association (SADHA). SADHA allows students to continue their growth in the field, develop the soft skills necessary for success, gain professional experience and develop contacts for their future.

Club Advisor: Aaron Barker
abarker@sctcc.edu

E Squared is a club for Energy and Electronics students. Students involved in E Squared plan activities such as a department-wide breakfast, go on field trips, volunteer, purchase new items for the department, and fundraise to support the club’s activities.

Club Advisor: Lynn Zormeier
lzormeier@sctcc.edu

Students in our Health Information Technology program are invited to join the HIM club. The club concentrates on providing its members with opportunities to connect, build and create partnerships, and apply their HIM skills across the campus and the community.

Club Advisor: Randy Kidder
rkidder@sctcc.edu

The HVAC (Heating & Air Conditioning) SkillsUSA club is one for those looking to fine tune their skills in the HVAC field through competition and collaboration. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisors: Joanna Johnson & Terri Larison
Joanna.Johnson@sctcc.edu
tlarison@sctcc.edu

Students in the Practical Nursing program have the opportunity to join the PN Nursing Club. The club uses fundraisers, events, and activities to strengthen the sense of community of the PN program and across the campus.

Club Advisor: Allen Smith
allen.smith@sctcc.edu

As a CNC and Advanced Machining major, students can join the student group, SkillsUSA, to compete in events and apply more of their skills. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisors: Matt Hoepner & Timmy Shay
mhoepner@sctcc.edu
tshay@sctcc.edu

The Medium/Heavy Truck SkillsUSA club is for students in the program to compete in events and partner to display their maintenance, repair, and diagnostic skills on medium and heavy duty trucks and trailers. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisors: Craig Fischer and Robert Mergen
Craig.fischer@sctcc.edu
bmergen@sctcc.edu

MESA is designed for students in the Electrical Construction program. The focus is on electrical work, to create partnerships in the industry and with peers, attend local and state conferences, and improve members’ skill set in the electrical field.

Club Advisor: Mary Wilkins-Jordan
Mary.wilkins-jordan@sctcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa, or PTK, is the official honor society for 2-year colleges and SCTCC students. PTK also provides opportunities for networking, leadership, service experience, and additional recognition throughout your college journey. PTK membership is by invitation based on GPA (3.5 or above) and completed credits (at least 12).

Club Advisors: Jackie Brambrink & Carolyn Neubauer
jbrambrink@sctcc.edu
cneubauer@sctcc.edu

All SCTCC students in the Nursing program have the opportunity to join the SCTCC Student club − the ADN Nursing Club. The ADN Nursing Club holds many events and fundraisers for the SCTCC population and is a way to create a community amongst the program and share similar experiences to prepare all students for the workforce.

Club Advisors: Nicole Gotta & Jeff Gunderson
NGotta@sctcc.edu
jgunderson@sctcc.edu

An active group of sonography students who attend state conferences, collaborate, and do a lot of community work both on and off campus.

Club Advisor: Melissanne Frank
mfrank@sctcc.edu

Supporting Our Students, or SOS, works to promote unity and quality of student lives at SCTCC, specifically services that can provide equity for women on campus.

Club Advisors: Heidi Smith & Brian Volkmuth
hsmith@sctcc.edu
bvolkmuth@sctcc.edu

The mission of SVA is to ensure all student veterans have access to the tools they need for success and create a campus atmosphere that promotes and provides academic, administrative, and personal support to student veterans to achieve success in and out of the classroom.

Club Advisor: Steve Nusbaum
Steve.nusbaum@sctcc.edu

The Leadership Club focuses in on providing the opportunities for students to thrive. This is done through leadership, cultural awareness, and promoting and facilitating a campus climate supportive of academic, social and personal success.

Club Advisor: Chuck Haus
chaus@sctcc.edu

The Welding SkillsUSA club focuses on the skills learned in the Welding program and puts them into a competitive and collaborative environment for students. SkillsUSA itself is a partnership of students, teachers, and industries working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel and provides educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms.

Club Advisor: Lowell (Allen) Smith
lsmith@sctcc.edu

The EMS Clubs promotes involvement in current health care issues, environmental concerns and survival needs of the community while helping members develop leadership, character and confidence.

Club Advisor: Gregg Kropp
Gregg.kropp@sctcc.edu

The WAMM club is one for our Water Environment Technologies students, to further their exploration and collaborate regarding water and wastewater treatment through conferences, field visits, and activities.